Start promoting Petersburg as a tourist center, the city administration has ordered a market research. It turned out that European tourists, middle-aged, the main buyers of cruise trips are well aware about St. Petersburg, but also have strong stereotypes about Russia received from the media. They represent it as a cold, wild a country, rich in oil, vodka and a lot of money, where tourists waiting for danger and “bears on the streets.”

Commercial campaign has enabled European viewers to look at the city and Russia from a new perspective, as in treasury world culture and one of the most attractive tourist destination.

The idea of communication offer not persuade foreigners, but rebounding from these stereotypes, to generate interest and to present the beauty of St. Petersburg. There is nothing that helps to relieve stereotypes, as irony and their too literally illustration. “You expect to see our bears? Here they get!”

Hide

City of St. Petersburg
No bears. Just beauties

Start promoting Petersburg as a tourist center, the city administration has ordered a market research. It turned out that European tourists, middle-aged, the main buyers of cruise trips are well aware about St. Petersburg, but also have strong stereotypes about Russia received from the media. They represent it as a cold, wild a country, rich in oil, vodka and a lot of money, where tourists waiting for danger and “bears on the streets.”

Commercial campaign has enabled European viewers to look at the city and Russia from a new perspective, as in treasury world culture and one of the most attractive tourist destination.

The idea of communication offer not persuade foreigners, but rebounding from these stereotypes, to generate interest and to present the beauty of St. Petersburg. There is nothing that helps to relieve stereotypes, as irony and their too literally illustration. “You expect to see our bears? Here they get!”

More info

Начав продвижение Петербурга, как туристического центра, городские власти провели исследование. Оказалось, что европейские туристы средних лет, основные покупатели круизных путевок, прекрасно осведомлены о Петербурге, но также обладают большими стереотипами, сформированными под влиянием СМИ, о России. Они воспринимают ее как холодную, диковатую, богатую нефтью, водкой, большими деньгами, где туристов поджидают опасности и «медведи на улицах».

Рекламная кампания дала возможность европейским зрителям взглянуть на город и России с новой точки зрения, как на сокровищницу мировой культуры и одно из самых привлекательных мест для туризма.

Идея коммуникации предлагала не переубеждать европейцев, а оттолкнувшись от этих стереотипов, вызывать интерес и представить красоты Петербурга. Ничто так не способствует снятию стереотипов, как ирония и буквальная их иллюстрация. «Вы ожидали увидеть у нас медведей? Вот они, получите!».

Свернуть

Санкт-Петербург
Никаких медведей. Только красота

Начав продвижение Петербурга, как туристического центра, городские власти провели исследование. Оказалось, что европейские туристы средних лет, основные покупатели круизных путевок, прекрасно осведомлены о Петербурге, но также обладают большими стереотипами, сформированными под влиянием СМИ, о России. Они воспринимают ее как холодную, диковатую, богатую нефтью, водкой, большими деньгами, где туристов поджидают опасности и «медведи на улицах».

Рекламная кампания дала возможность европейским зрителям взглянуть на город и России с новой точки зрения, как на сокровищницу мировой культуры и одно из самых привлекательных мест для туризма.

Идея коммуникации предлагала не переубеждать европейцев, а оттолкнувшись от этих стереотипов, вызывать интерес и представить красоты Петербурга. Ничто так не способствует снятию стереотипов, как ирония и буквальная их иллюстрация. «Вы ожидали увидеть у нас медведей? Вот они, получите!».

Читать далее